Mississippi State Sports Blog


Article Comment 

Prescott named to Manning Award watch list


MSU QB Dak Prescott

MSU QB Dak Prescott Photo by: MSU Media Relations




Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott has added yet another preseason honor heading into his first season as MSU's starting quarterback, this one a spot on the preseason watch list for the Manning Award. 


It's Prescott third watch list nomination for a major postseason award, as he was named to lists for the Maxwell and Davy O'Brien Awards in July. 


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting. 


Prescott, one of 32 quarterbacks up for the award, passed for 1,940 yards and 10 touchdowns as a sophomore, and he added 829 rushing yards and 13 touchdowns while starting just seven games. The Haughton, Louisiana native was named the Most Valuable Player of the Liberty Bowl after accounting for more than 300 yards and five touchdowns in a 44-7 win over Conference USA champion Rice. 


The Manning Award winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowl season is completed. 


Previous winners of the Manning Award include former Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel, former Auburn quarterback Cam Newton and reigning Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston of Florida State.



back to top




Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email