Article Comment 

Democrats dominate West Point ballot




This year''s qualifying deadline to run for office in West Point has passed, and every seat open for election is being contested. 


Every West Point candidate, save one, is running as a Democrat in this election. 


Incumbent Mayor Scott Ross will face Terry Buffington, Jimmy Davidson, Xanthe O''Joiner, Tonya Quinn and Harold Lathon, who is running as an independent. 


Ward 1 Selectwoman Linda Hannah is challenged by Scott Reed, Mary Anne Nelson Lamparter and Rod Bobo. 


In Ward 2, incumbent Marion "Bubba" Wilkerson''s only challenger is Homer E. Cannon. 


Longtime Ward 3 Selectman John Cummings is not seeking re-election. His is the only seat which will not be vyed for by an incumbent. The position is up for grabs in a race among Hubert Casten, Charles D. Collins, Randel Whitmire and William "Buddy" Huffman. 


In Ward 4, Selectman Keith McBrayer must prepare to run against John Caskey and Eddie Holcombe. 


Finally, in Ward 5 Selectman Jasper Pittman is facing Joey Michel. 


The primary election in West Point is scheduled for May 5. The general election will be held June 2. 


In order to have qualified to run those seeking office must live in the city of West Point and have paid a $10 entry fee.




printer friendly version | back to top


Reader Comments

back to top





Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email