Article Comment 

Hood: Some pardoned by Barbour gave proper notice


The Associated Press



JACKSON -- Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood says he won't challenge the pardons of 13 people who met a state constitutional requirement to publish a notice that they were seeking a pardon. The state constitution says the notice must be published for at least 30 days in a newspaper in or a near the county where the crime occurred. 


The 13 were among about 200 people given reprieves by Haley Barbour during his final days as governor. They are: 


n Mark Hubbard Allen -- Sentenced in October 1996 in Oktibbeha County for vehicular homicide. Discharged from parole supervision in January 2007. 


n Bobby Ray Camp -- Sentenced in January 1993 for burglary and larceny of a building in Monroe County. Sentences discharged in February 1994. 


n Mabrie C. Gilmer -- Sentenced in December 1990 in Warren County for manslaughter. Discharged in December 1992. 


n Jerome Francis Jackson -- Sentenced in May 1989 in Jackson County for burglary and larceny. Discharged from probation in January 1993. 


n Herbert Lowery -- Sentenced in March 1979 in Warren County for possession of marijuana with intent to deliver. Completed parole in March 1981. Granted a certificate of rehabilitation by Warren County Circuit Court in November 2007. 


n Kevin Bandouglas McCullough -- Sentenced in March 2003 in Pike County for selling marijuana. Granted certificate of rehabilitation in January 2007. 


n David Willard Newcomb -- Sentenced in December 2000 in Tishomingo County on methamphetamine charges. Discharged in October 2002. 


n Zachary Kane Polk -- Sentenced in Oktibbeha County in 2007 for sale of a controlled substance. On parole since November 2009. 


n Barry James Sanderson Jr. -- Sentenced in December 1994 in Harrison County for kidnapping. Probation ended in March 1998. 


n Dawn Renee Schaefer -- Sentenced in Pike County in 1999 for shoplifting and conspiracy to commit felony shoplifting. Discharged in August 2002. 


n Jason Todd Shivers -- Sentenced in Oktibbeha County in 1993 for sale of LSD. Received expungement order in July 1999. 


n Scott McLean Smith -- Sentenced in November 2010 for sale of amphetamine in Lafayette County. Tentative probation discharge is November 2013. 


n Joel Warren Vann -- Sentenced in August 1996 in Alcorn County for DUI death. Discharged from probation in May 2000.  


Sources: Mississippi attorney general's office; executive orders of former Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour. 


Copyright 2012 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.




printer friendly version | back to top






Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email