Article Comment 

Mayor top fund-raiser in city races


Neal Wagner



Columbus Mayor Robert Smith significantly outraised and outspent independent opponent Tom Geiger during the mayoral campaign, with a host of contributions including $500 from a Washington-based lobbying firm, reports show. 


Each election year, candidates for municipal races must report all campaign contributions and campaign-related expenditures more than $200 to the Columbus registrar and to Mississippi Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann''s office. 


Geiger, who faced Smith in the general election, didn''t report any contributions over $200 in his bid to unseat Smith, who was elected to a second term. 


Several candidates for councilmen reported donations over the $200 mark. Among the largest were two $1,000 donations from the Lowndes County Republican Party to incumbents Jay Jordan and Susan Mackay, who both lost their seats in the general election. 


Candidates reported money spent primarily on campaign signs and advertising. 


All candidates still must turn in a final termination report, Columbus Registrar Brenda Williams said. The report is a contract stating all campaign debt has been resolved and the candidate no longer will accept campaign contributions nor will make any more campaign expenditures, according to Hosemann''s Web site. 


All candidates on Jan. 29, 2010, also must submit an end-of-year expenditure report detailing all campaign funding activity during 2009. 




A listing of itemized contributions reported by candidates for mayor and alderman: 




Democratic incumbent Robert Smith 


Andy Stewart Sr., Columbus: $750 


T.P. Harris Elks Lodge, Columbus: $600 


APAC Mississippi Political Action Committee, Washington, D.C.: $500 


Hilbert Williams, Columbus: $500 


Joyce Coleman, Columbus: $500 


Felix Wicks, Columbus: $300 


Gouras and Associates, Ridgeland: $250 


John Dickerson, Columbus: $200 


Terrell Thomas Properties, Columbus: $200 


Glenn Chappel Christian Methodist Episcopal Church, Columbus: $200 


Travis Jones, Columbus: $100 


Bolten Investigation, Columbus: $100 


Nell''s Electrical Contractor, Columbus: $100 


Pam Dyer-Rush, Starkville: $50 




Ward 1 Democratic incumbent Gene Taylor 


Adam Holmes, Columbus: $1,000 


Joel and Lelia Hudnall, Columbus: $200 


Esther Harrison campaign fund, Columbus: $100 


Dennis Erby, Columbus: $50. 


Kimberly Mullin, Columbus: $20 




Ward 2 Republican incumbent Susan Mackay 


Campaign contributions 


Columbus-Lowndes Political Action Committee: $1,000 


Lowndes County Republican Party: $1,000 


Golden Triangle Association of Realtors: $200 




Ward 3 Republican candidate Charlie Box 


Justin and David Shelton, Columbus: $500 




Ward 3 Republican incumbent Gene Coleman 


Family Pharmacy, Columbus: $500 




Ward 5 Republican incumbent Jay Jordan 


Lowndes County Republican Party: $1,000 


Michael Kerby Jr., Columbus: $500 


Ward 5 Democratic candidate Kabir Karriem 


Adam Holmes, Columbus: $250 


Joel Hudnall, Columbus: $200 


Andy Stewart, Columbus: $200 




Ward 5 Democratic candidate Kenneth McFarland  


Andy Stewart Sr., Columbus: $200 


Hilbert Williams, Columbus: $200 


Johnnie Richardson, Columbus: $100 


Claude Simpson, Columbus: $100 


Bobby McCarter, Columbus: $50 


Lillie Richardson, Columbus: $50 




Ward 6 Republican candidate Bill Gavin 


Environmental Evaluation and Control, Columbus: $300 


Coleman Realty, Columbus: $100 




Figures provided by the Columbus city clerk''s office




printer friendly version | back to top


Reader Comments

back to top





Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email