Article Comment 

City leaders to be sworn in during Thursday ceremony


Dispatch Staff Report



Columbus officials are encouraging local residents to attend the swearing-in ceremony for the recently elected mayor and City Council Thursday at the Trotter Convention Center. 


The ceremony will begin at 5 p.m. Thursday in the upper level of the convention center on Fifth Street South, and will last about 45 minutes, said Mayor Robert Smith. 


Newcomers Ward 2 Councilman Joseph Mickens, Ward 3 Councilman Charlie Box, Ward 5 Councilman Kabir Karriem and Ward 6 Councilman Bill Gavin will replace outgoing council members Susan Mackay, Gene Coleman, Jay Jordan and Jerry Kendall, respectively. Smith, Ward 1 incumbent Gene Taylor and Ward 4 incumbent Fred Stewart will be sworn in for a second time.




printer friendly version | back to top


Reader Comments

back to top



Most Viewed News Stories


1. Business booms for Starkville startup Glo STARKVILLE & OKTIBBEHA COUNTY

2. New Hope kids take robot to world competition COLUMBUS & LOWNDES COUNTY

3. Three mayoral candidates no-shows at forum COLUMBUS & LOWNDES COUNTY

4. Mayoral forum to be held at MUW COLUMBUS & LOWNDES COUNTY

5. Neal withdraws from Starkville's Ward 5 race STARKVILLE & OKTIBBEHA COUNTY


More popular content      Suggest a story



Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email