Article Comment 

Sistrunk to run for reelection


Starkville Ward 2 Alderman Sandra Sistrunk

Starkville Ward 2 Alderman Sandra Sistrunk





Starkville Ward 2 Alderman Sandra Sistrunk has officially qualified to seek her second term in the 2013 municipal elections.  


Sistrunk announced her intent late last week. The Democrat also serves as the city's vice-mayor and on the budget and audit committee.  


She was a strong advocate for both the new municipal complex as well as the city's recent partnership with the Golden Triangle Development Link. 


Among other stances, Sistrunk's platform includes spurring retail development and protecting residential neighborhoods. 


Sistrunk joins Starkville Mayor Parker Wiseman, Ward 1 Alderman Ben Carver, Ward 6 Alderman Roy A. Perkins and Ward 7 Alderman Henry Vaughn in their bids to seek re-election.  


Elsewhere, today is the last day to qualify for the 36th District seat in the Mississippi House of Representatives. The seat has been vacant since the Jan. 13 death of Rep. David Gibbs, D-West Point. Gibbs had held the seat for more than 20 years. He died at the age of 76 after a brief illness. The special election, called by Gov. Phil Bryant, will be held March 12. 


Other counties in Gibbs' district include Clay and Monroe. 


Gibbs' son, Karl Gibbs, was the first candidate to announce he would run for the House seat. According to the Mississippi Secretary of State's website, the following have qualified for the special election: Gibbs, Roderick Van Daniel, Bobbie C. Davis, Jimmy Davidson, Eddie Longstreet and Jeannie Johnson.  


Candidates for the special election had to file a petition with at least 50 signatures of qualified electors from the district with the State Board of Election Commissioners. 


The only Lowndes County precinct in the district is located on a portion of the Lowndes County airbase. The polling place for that precinct is the North West Lowndes Fire Department at 128 Jess Lyons Road. The other district precincts are located in portions of Clay and Monroe counties. 





printer friendly version | back to top






Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email