Article Comment 

Only one qualified for new judge’s seat


Kristin Mamrack



In 2005, lawmakers voted to add a third judge to the 16th Circuit Court to represent Noxubee and Clay counties. 


But, so far, only one person has qualified for the seat in the upcoming election. 


Lee S. Coleman of West Point submitted qualifying papers Jan. 17. 


District 16 incumbent candidates -- Lee J. Howard and James T. "Jim" Kitchens -- have qualified for District 16 Circuit Court judge seats. 


And a new candidate, William Starks of Columbus, submitted qualifying papers March 12. 


Howard, of Starkville, submitted qualifying papers Dec. 21 and Kitchens, of Columbus, submitted qualifying papers Dec. 17. 


District 16 covers Clay, Lowndes, Noxubee and Oktibbeha counties.  


All three incumbent candidates -- Kenneth M. Burns, Dorothy W. Colom and Jim Davidson -- have qualified for the District 14 Chancery Court judge seat. 


Burns, of Okolona, submitted qualifying papers Dec. 14; Colom, of Columbus, submitted papers Dec. 11; and Davidson, of Columbus, submitted qualifying papers to the Secretary of State''s Office on Dec. 11. 


District 14 covers Chickasaw, Clay, Lowndes, Noxubee, Oktibbeha and Webster counties. 


Candidates for non-partisan judicial offices, including county court judge, have until May 7 to qualify for upcoming elections, according to the Secretary of State''s Web site.




printer friendly version | back to top


Reader Comments

back to top





Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email