Elite group of Lions, Indians move on

December 18, 2013 10:28:06 PM

Scott Walters - [email protected]


Byerson Cockrell had been waiting for Wednesday his entire life. 


Cockrell, a former Columbus High standout, officially signed a national letter-of-intent to play football at the University of Nebraska. 


Cockrell completed his playing career at East Mississippi Community College earlier this month when the Lions won the Mississippi Bowl to take a second national championship. 


"Nebraska recruited me the entire season and it just felt like a natural fit," Cockrell said. "They are going let me play my natural position (defensive back), so I am excited about this opportunity." 


Junior college players who have completed their degree work could sign letters of intent beginning Wednesday. These players can enroll at their new schools in January. 


The University of Nebraska does not confirm early enrollments, instead the announcement of Cockrell will come in February. 


Former Heritage Academy and EMCC lineman Blake Sharp also signed with Louisiana Tech University Wednesday. Tech should officially announce this signee today. 


A total of 11 former EMCC players and 13 former Itawamba Community College players were confirmed as senior college signees by the two respective schools Wednesday. 






The following East Mississippi Community College and Itawamba Community College sophomores signs senior college scholarship offers Wednesday. By completing degree work in December, these signees can enroll at their new schools in January. 


Note: Additional players are expected to sign today and Friday. 




WR Antoinne Adkins (University of Louisiana, Lafayette) 


WR C.J. Bates (University of Louisiana, Lafayette) 


DB Byerson Cockrell (University of Nebraska) 


OL Avery Gennesy (Texas A&M University) 


DL Jimmie Gipson III (University of South Alabama) 


DL D.J. Pettway (University of Alabama) 


QB Dontreal Pruitt (Troy University) 


DL Jarran Reed (University of Alabama) 


LB Christian Russell (University of Mississippi) 


OL Blake Sharp (Louisiana Tech University) 


DB A.J. Stamps (University of Kentucky) 




WR Jarvis Bentley (Troy University) 


DL Randall Boyd (Delta State University) 


LB Carderious Dean (Arkansas State University) 


TE Archie Dennard (Tennessee State University) 


WR Hakeem Flowers (Nicholls State University) 


QB Andrew Goodman (Wingate University) 


OL D'Andre Greer (Henderson State University) 


OL Kyle Harris (Arkansas State University) 


RB Tobias Lofton (Nicholls State University) 


DL DQ Reynolds (Delta State University) 


WR Shante Rogers (University of Tennessee, Martin) 


OL Quadzing Rogers (Bethel College) 


WR Sanford Seay (Louisiana Tech University

Scott is sports copy editor and reporter