Chambless, area players on MAC All-State teams

December 11, 2009 10:01:00 AM



Nineteen local prep football players and one coach were honored earlier this week when the Mississippi Association of Coaches announced its All-State teams. 


Mississippi High School Activities Association Class 5A state champion West Point and Class 3A runner-up Aberdeen led the way with five players recognized. 


West Point High''s Chris Chambless was chosen MAC Coach of the Year for guiding the Green Wave (14-1) past Wayne County 35-14 on Saturday for the school''s sixth state title. 


Joining Chambless on the first team are: Lakenderic Thomas (junior, running back), Michael Carr (senior, wide receiver), Desmond Boyd (senior, offensive guard), and Curtis Virges (senior, defensive tackle). Carr and Virges are Mississippi State commitments. 


Senior inside linebacker Matthew Lewis was selected to the second-team defense. 


In Class 3A, senior running back Jamerson Love, a Mississippi State commitment, and sophomore defensive end Channing Ward were picked to the first-team defense. 


Senior wide receiver Erik Buchanan, senior defensive tackle Fred Ward, and senior kick returner Rashad Pargo were chosen to the second teams. 


Also in Class 5A, New Hope junior running back Terrance Dentry was named to the first-team defense, while senior offensive guard Ryan Hollivay and senior defensive end Seth Stillman were named to second-team offense and defense, respectively. 


In Class 6A, Starkville High senior Chuck Tillery was named to the second-team defense as a kick returner. 


In Class 4A, Louisville High senior center Tate Rogers was named to the first-team offense, while Noxubee County senior defensive tackle Nelson Bolden and Amory High senior defensive end Nathan Kendrick were named to the first-team defense. 


Noxubee County senior wide receiver Vincent Sanders and Louisville High senior wide receiver Markese Triplett were named to the second-team offense.