Roses and thorns 2-21-10

February 20, 2010 9:03:00 PM



A thorn to the Mississippi State Bulldog fans who made us all look bad with their antics at State''s nationally televised game against Kentucky. 


Fans threw full water bottles on the court and nearly hit a referee after No. 2 Kentucky beat the Bulldogs 81-75 in overtime. 


Mississippi State Director of Athletics Greg Byrne, MSU President Mark Keenum and student body president Blake Jeter chastised the unruly fans who "embarrassed" the university. But the fact is, it never should have happened. "Worst fans in the SEC" isn''t a label we want on the Bulldog Nation. 


It''s an embarrassment to the school, the community and the state as a whole. We should all be adults, learn to control ourselves and act like we have a smidgen of good sportsmanship. It was a double-loss for MSU that Tuesday night. 




A rose to Columbus Municipal School District Teacher of the Year Cindy Ming of Columbus High School. CMSD Superintendent Dr. Del Phillips, Mayor Robert Smith, school board member Glenn Lautzenhiser and Columbus High School Principal Randy Shannon visited Ming''s third-period U.S. History class unannounced to bestow her with the honor. 


Shandrika Roland, a junior in Ming''s class, says Ming always perks her up. 


"She''s just an exciting teacher to be around," said Roland. "She breaks down all the material she does. She won''t just throw it on you and let you not understand it." 


Ming is a 10-year veteran of CMSD. She has taught at Lee Middle School and CHS. She and her husband have two children: Micah, 5; and Hanna Beth, 1. 


Other teachers of the year -- for individual schools -- are McKellar Technology Center''s Patty Thrash, Lee Middle School''s Patricia Cochran, Hunt Intermediate School''s Jennifer Bell, Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School''s Olivia Ulbrich, Fairview Aerospace and Science Magnet School''s Alika Logan, Franklin Elementary Medical Sciences and Wellness Magnet School''s Elaine Humphries, Sale Elementary International Studies Magnet School''s Mary Anna Nelson and Stokes Beard Elementary Technology and Communication Magnet School: Ophelia Summerville 




A thorn to the Lowndes County Board of Supervisors for bickering over road projects. They wasted a good amount of a board meeting last week arguing about whose roads would get paved. News Flash: It''s not the beat system; every supervisor doesn''t have his own kingdom. You gentlemen should be out to do what''s best for the county as a whole, not fighting over who has more money for roads. And another county official shouldn''t have to step in to get you guys back to the agenda. Supervisors Leroy Brooks, Harry Sanders and Frank Ferguson were all acting like children, fighting for space in the sandbox. 




A rose to Caledonia teacher Terry Wiygul, who was honored by the Mississippi Education Computing Association as Teacher of the Year for her work in promoting the use of technology during MECA''s annual conference Feb. 10 in Jackson. 


The 10-year Caledonia teacher also teaches virtual classes with Mississippi Virtual Public Schools Web-based classes. Wiygul also leads E-learning workshops for Mississippi Public Broadcasting. One of her recent workshops, Web 2.0, went a long way toward earning her Teacher of the Year honors from MECA by showing educators how to interact with the Internet, rather than simply gathering information. 


In the classroom, Wiygul uses innovative learning tools to drive the concepts of physics and technology home.