Vance named president of archivists society

April 17, 2010 8:20:00 PM



Columbus-Lowndes Public Library Archivist Mona K. Vance officially took office as president of the Society of Mississippi Archivists (SMA) March 30 at the Mississippi Department of Archives and History in Jackson. 


Vance plans on working with SMA on several projects that include offering more educational opportunities through statewide workshops and increasing awareness of the benefits of SMA membership. 


Vance said, "I''m honored to serve such a wonderful and worthy organization. The members of SMA work diligently to not only educate, but serve as points of information for everyone interested in preserving the rich history of our state." 


Members of SMA inducted into offices and positions include the following: 


Vice President/President Elect Shugana Williams (librarian with the University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Coast); Secretary/Treasurer and SMA Newsletter Editor Heather Weeden (special collections librarian with Mississippi College); Primary Source Editor Ryan Semmes (assistant archivist with Mississippi State University); and SMA Webmaster Laura Capell (digital archivist with the University of Southern Mississippi). 


The board of directors also includes Jennifer Rose (public history coordinator with Sunflower County Library System); Emily Erwin (university archivist with Delta State University); and Jamie Bounds (local history and genealogy librarian with Harrison County Library System). 


The Society of Mississippi Archivists was organized in 1977. Among many things, the Society strives to promote effective communication among professional archivists; to encourage the preservation and conservation of archival and manuscript materials in the state; and to assist citizens, professional organizations, educational institutions, and cultural groups in the preservation and use of our recorded heritage. 


To find out more about SMA, visit  


For further information, contact Vance at 662-329-5304, or [email protected]