Lowndes United Way announces new board of directors

April 7, 2009



The famous Girl Scout song "Make New Friends" reminds us to "make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver, the other is gold." 


This tune rings true for United Way of Lowndes County as they bid farewell to outgoing board members Nick Ardillo of Ardillo, McCullough, and Taggart; Dr. Claudia Limbert, Mississippi University for Women president; Alma Turner, ICS Head Start; Yvonne Sanders, Columbus Convention and Visitors Bureau; and community volunteer Sandra Stone. 


"The six years I served on the United Way board provided me the perfect experience to help others and to see the results of changing the lives of those less fortunate in our community," Turner said. 


Incoming board members include Dr. Gary Bouse, MUW; Scott Ferguson, Financial Concepts; Brandt Galloway, Galloway-Chandler-McKinney Insurance; James Hrusovsky, SeverStal; George Kerekes, PACCAR; Amber Murphree, Main Street Columbus; Beth Robinson, Belk; Greg Stewart, Stark Aerospace; and, James Tsismanakis, CCVB executive director. 


"I am looking forward to serving on the board of directors for United Way and learning how I can utilize my time and talents to help Lowndes County," Tsismanakis said. 


Remaining board members include John Brady, Mitchell, McNutt and Sams; Kathy Brown, Omnova Solutions; Roger Burlingame, Ceco Building Systems; Whirllie Byrd, community volunteer; Beth Cook, community volunteer; Bryant Cook, Premier Media Development Group; Will Cooper, Nichols, Crowell, Gillis, Cooper and Amos; John Davis, Cadence Bank; John Dowdle, Dowdle Enterprises; Matt Fowler, Singing River Furniture; Gwen Granderson, CCVB; Jason Heleniak, Edward Jones; Deborah Junkin, American Eurocopter; Frances Jutman, Cadence Bank; Brenda Lathan, Columbus Lowndes Development Link; Stuart Phillips, Phillips Contracting; and Leslie Watkins, Columbus Air Force Base. 


The following volunteered to serve on the 2009-2010 executive committee: President Dennis Erby, retired, Mississippi Highway Patrol; Vice President William Corder, Cadence Bank; Second Vice President Lynn Atkins, community volunteer; Immediate Past President Jim Wilson, Mitchell, McNutt and Sams; Finance Chairman and Treasurer John Bowen, BankTel; Secretary Sarah Heinkel, Weyerhaeuser Columbus Modified Fiber; allocations, Stewart Stafford, Rhett Real Estate; communications, Susan Bell, WCBI; nominations, Scott Singley, Brunini Law Firm; special events, Learnard Dickerson, Daco Infinite Solutions; and at-large members, Marilyn Agnew, Columbus School District, and Kevin Stafford, Neel-Schaffer Engineering. 


For more information about United Way of Lowndes County and the services it funds, please visit http://www.unitedwaylowndescounty.org or call 662-328-0943.