Article Comment 

Champions Again: Heritage Academy wins state title


Adam Minichino


CLINTON -- The Heritage Academy football team accomplished the goal it had in mind all season: It gave coach Barrett Donahoe a Gatorade moment he will always remember. 


The dousing Donahoe received came minutes after one of the Patriots' most dominating defensive efforts of the season on the state's biggest stage. 


Graham McCain had a 30-yard field goal, Hudson Bean scored on a 3-yard touchdown run in the second quarter, and Taylor Fields' sack in the final minutes provided the exclamation point Friday in Heritage Academy's 10-3 victory against Magnolia Heights Academy in the Mississippi Association of Independent Schools Class AAA, Division 2 state title at Mississippi College's Robinson-Hale Stadium. 


The victory helped Heritage Academy (7-5) finish the season on a five-game winning streak and secure its first state title since 1986. This season also was the program's first time back in the playoffs since 2005. 


It all came in Donahoe's first season as head coach at the school. 


For more on this game and the rest of Friday's prep football action, see Sunday's edition of The Dispatch. 


Here is a list of the state of Mississippi's prep football scores from Friday night, as provided by The Associated Press: 




Madison Central 41, Columbus 7 


Starkville 45, Saltillo 7 


West Point 38, Canton 0  


Louisville 38, New Albany 13 


Noxubee County 14, Lafayette 0 


Aberdeen 39, McClain 16 


Bruce 35, East Webster 7 


Bogue Chitto 56, West Lowndes 36 


Heritage Aca. 10, Magnolia Heights 3 




Mississippi High School Activities Association 


Class 6A 


First Round 


Brandon 35, Ocean Springs 14 


Clinton 31, Southaven 7 


D'Iberville 27, Meridian 21, OT 


Hattiesburg 21, Gulfport 14 


Olive Branch 53, Warren Central 21 


Petal 49, Biloxi 34 


South Panola 42, Jackson Jim Hill 7  


MHSAA Class 5A 


First Round 


Oxford 27, Provine 14 


Pascagoula 38, West Jones 6 


Pearl River Central 52, McComb 18 


Picayune 69, Brookhaven 42 


Ridgeland 13, Center Hill 6 


Wayne County 29, Moss Point 7 


MHSAA Class 4A 


Second Round 


Bay St. Louis 45, Germantown 7 


Forrest Co. AHS 42, Mendenhall 20 


Greene County 49, Tylertown 26 


Houston 34, Yazoo County 0 


Itawamba 30, Lewisburg 3 


Quitman 49, Columbia 14  


MHSAA Class 3A 


Second Round 


Byhalia 14, Booneville 6 


Charleston 60, Ripley 32 


East Side 26, Water Valley 24 


Hazlehurst 51, Sumrall 29 


Philadelphia 34, Wilkinson County 14 


Seminary 34, Forest 14 


West Marion 50, McLaurin 9  


Class 2A 


Second Round 


Bassfield 47, Bay Springs 12 


Calhoun City 48, J.F. Kennedy 18 


East Marion 10, St. Joseph-Madison 7 


Eupora 36, South Delta 8 


Mize 41, Union 24 


Taylorsville 41, Lumberton 6 


West Bolivar 37, Ackerman 15  


Class 1A 


First Round 


Coffeeville 35, Vardaman 21 


Falkner 44, Shaw 8 


French Camp 42, Coldwater 6 


Noxapater 46, Dexter 14 


Pelahatchie 51, Cathedral 40 


St. Joseph-Madison 38, Smithville 6 


Stringer 40, Nanih Waiya 7  


Mississippi Association of Independent Schools 


Class AAA Division 1 




Jackson Prep 34, Jackson Aca. 10 


MAIS Class AA 




Brookhaven Aca. 33, Lamar School 28 


Marshall Aca. 20, Indianola Aca. 15 


North Delta 41, River Oaks 7 


Simpson Aca. 21, Trinity Episcopal 14 


MAIS Class A 




Benton Academy 48, Deer Creek School 14 


Newton Co. Aca. 32, Riverfield Academy 26 


Tri-County Aca. 41, Winona Christian 6 


Wilkinson County Christian Academy 30, Heidelberg Academy 0 


MAIS Eight Man 




Russell Christian Academy 29, Calhoun Aca. 28 



Adam Minichino is the Sports Editor for The Commercial Dispatch.


printer friendly version | back to top




Most Viewed Sports Stories


1. Akins caps 30-year career with MSU athletics COLLEGE SPORTS


More popular content      Suggest a story



MSU Sports Blog


Rob Hardy on Books


High School Sports Blog


Want to blog on




Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email