Article Comment 

Prescott up for national award


Brandon Walker



STARKVILLE -- Another week, another national award possibility for Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott. 


One week after being named a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, which is given annual to the nation's top quarterback, and the Maxwell Trophy, given to the top offensive player, Prescott was named a finalist for the 2014 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Handed out each year since 1987, the Golden Arm award is presented to the nation's top senior of fourth-year junior quarterback. 


Prescott, who has led MSU to a 9-0 start and the first No. 1 ranking in school history, is one of five finalists, joining one quarterback from the Big 12 Conference and three from the Pac-12. The finalists included UCLA's Brett Hundley, Oregon's Marcus Mariota, Southern Cal's Cody Kessler and Baylor's Bryce Petty. 


On the season, Prescott has thrown for 2,231 yards and 18 touchdowns. He has also rushed for 779 yards and 11 scores, tied for the most in the Southeastern Conference. 


Prescott made the cut from the original field of 27 after leading the top-ranked Bulldogs to their first 9-0 start in school history. The Haughton, La., native is the only player who ranks in the top-10 in the FBS in points responsible for (5th, 180), passing efficiency (7th, 158.5) and total offense per game (10th, 334.4). 


Prescott has recorded a nation-high four games with 200-yards passing and 100-yards rushing. The signal caller also leads the country in third-down quarterback rating (202.4) and third-down touchdowns responsible for (14). 


In addition to the accomplishments on the field, candidates are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement and leadership qualities. Previous winners include Heisman Trophy recipients Matt Leinart, Jason White, Carson Palmer, Chris Weinke and Danny Wuerffel, as well as current NFL stars Peyton Manning, Matt Ryan and Andrew Luck. 


This year's winner will be announced on Dec. 8, 2014, with the winner receiving the award on Dec. 12 in Baltimore, Md., at the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & Grand Historic Venue. 


Vanderbilt, Egg Bowl times set: On Monday afternoon, the SEC announced kickoff times for MSU's remaining two regular season games, a pair of contests that will feature MSU's fourth appearance this season on CBS. 


Up first, MSU's final home game, a Nov. 22 contest against Vanderbilt, will kick off at 6:30 p.m. and will be broadcast on either ESPN2 or the SEC Network. That determination will be made on Sunday. 


The Bulldogs' season finale, a Nov. 29 trip to Oxford for their annual end-of-season showdown with arch rival Ole Miss, will kick off at 2:30 p.m. and will be the spotlight game of the week for CBS Sports. The Bulldogs will have previously played three games on CBS this season, including earlier wins over Kentucky and Auburn as well as this Saturday's trip to Alabama. 


Basketball time set: After MSU's No. 22 game against Vanderbilt received a firm kickoff time, the school announced Monday that its home basketball game that day against Utah State would be played at noon. 


Follow Dispatch sports writer Brandon Walker on Twitter @BWonStateBeat



printer friendly version | back to top




AP Headlines





MSU Sports Blog


Rob Hardy on Books


High School Sports Blog


Want to blog on




Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email