Article Comment 

MSU basketball players among SEC academic honorees


From Special Reports



BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Six members of the national runner-up Mississippi State women's basketball team and three from MSU's men's basketball team that advanced to the semifinals of the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) were named Wednesday to the Southeastern Conference's Winter Honor Roll. 


Both tied for the fourth-most selections in the conference among their respective sports. 


The women's basketball team, which recorded a school-record 3.40 grade-point average in the fall, had seniors Blair Schaefer (biological sciences), Victoria Vivians (human development and family sciences), and Morgan William, a December graduate in kinesiology, claim their fourth-straight year on the honor roll. The other member of the winningest class in program history, Roshunda Johnson, was named to the list for the second year in a row in interdisciplinary studies. 


Junior Jazzmun Holmes, a human development and family sciences major, claimed the honor for the second-straight year, while Jordan Danberry, the Elite 90 Award winner and business economics major, earned a place on the list in her first season playing for Vic Schaefer's Bulldogs. 


All three selections for Ben Howland's squad, which posted a school-record 2.9 GPA in the fall, received their first honor roll distinction. Economics major Drew Davis was named to the list in his final season at MSU. Sophomore T.J. Gray, a kinesiology major, and junior philosophy major Nick Singleton also made the list. 


They were part of 665 student-athletes named to the honor roll by SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. 


Ole Miss placed 11 student-athletes on the list. 


The rifle led the way with half of its roster (six) earning the distinction, while the men's and women's basketball squads added five selections. 


Alabama placed 57 on the Honor Roll. 


The Crimson Tide led all conference women's basketball squads with eight student-athletes, led by senior Ashley Williams, who finished her career ranked in the top-10 all-time at Alabama in scoring and rebounding. 


Alabama was second among SEC men's swimming and diving teams with 17 honors. The team finished 13th at this year's NCAA Championships, and was led by 2018 SEC Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year Luke Kaliszak. 


All 11 members of this year's Alabama gymnastics team eligible by class (student-athletes must be a sophomore or better to earn the accolade) made the list, ranking the Crimson Tide second among the league's gymnastics squads, led by 2018 All-Americans Nickie Guerrero and Kiana Winston. 


Eighteen members of the Alabama women's swimming and diving team earned a place on the SEC Academic Honor Roll, led by 2018 senior All-Americans Bailey Scott and Temarie Tomley. The men's basketball squad placed three players on the list, led by Bryant Award finalist Riley Norris.



printer friendly version | back to top




AP Headlines





MSU Sports Blog


Rob Hardy on Books


High School Sports Blog


Want to blog on




Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email