Dispatch wins 15 press association awards


From left, Slim Smith, Zack Plair and Jan Swoope

From left, Slim Smith, Zack Plair and Jan Swoope



Dispatch Staff Report



The Dispatch took home 15 awards, including five first-place honors, from the Mississippi Press Association's annual Better Newspaper Contest Saturday. 


Columnist and reporter Slim Smith received three first-place awards, winning both the general interest and commentary column categories in The Dispatch's circulation division. His profile on Mississippi State head football coach Joe Moorhead, which published in the Fall 2018 edition of Progress, earned best magazine story honors. 


Smith placed second in editorial writing in the circulation division, and shared another second-place award with Reporter Alex Holloway for best spot news story. 


Managing Editor Zack Plair placed first for his feature story on White House chef and Columbus native Andre Rush. He also placed second for investigative/in-depth story, third in both the spot news story and commentary column categories, and shared a third-place award with News Editor Isabelle Altman for general news story. 


Lifestyles Editor Jan Swoope placed first in the lifestyles section category and second in feature story. 


Other winners included Adam Minichino, second place, sports game story; Luisa Porter, second place, general news photograph; and Matt Garner, third place, front page.




printer friendly version | back to top








Top Things to Do in the Golden Triangle This Weekend



Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email