Voice of the people: Accepting unity nominations




Accepting unity nominations


During a time in our country when there is so much uncertainty and divisiveness, our Unity Park Committee is pleased that so many people have found a place where unity is celebrated. That is the Oktibbeha County Unity Park. We were particularly happy when we learned that the Mississippi State Football Team held a "Black Lives Matter" rally there. What a perfect place for such an event before the Unity Park Wall of Honor where the pictures and names of people who spent their lives working for civil rights and unity are displayed. They should be an inspiration to everyone. It is a credit to the Oktibbeha County Board of Supervisors that they listened to the request to honor those who fought for civil rights and unity, and we are the beneficiaries of this very special place in downtown Starkville.


Each year at this time, up until November 1, the Unity Park Committee will be accepting nominations of individuals who have worked to bring unity to our community. Go to starkvilleunitypark.com for the nominating form and for other information about the Unity Park.



The Unity Park Committee


Jeanne Marszalek, Chair


Robbie Coblentz


Charles Evans


Jay Hurdle


Everlyn Johnson


Dylan Karges


Billy Nicks


Chris Taylor


Eva Mara White




printer friendly version | back to top







Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email